• Blog

  • DVB-T2

    Home » Blog » Blog » DVB-T2

    DVB-T2 is an abbreviation for Digital Video Broadcasting – Second Generation Terrestrial; it is the extension of the television standard DVB-T, issued by the consortium DVB, devised for the broadcast transmission of digital terrestrial television.This system transmits compressed digital audio, video, and other data in “physical layer pipes” (PLPs), using OFDM modulation with concatenated channel coding and interleaving. The higher offered bit rate, with respect to its predecessor DVB-T, makes it a suited system for carrying HDTV signals on the terrestrial TV channel.It is currently broadcasting in UK (Freeview HD, four channels), Italy (Europa 7 HD, twelve channels) and in Sweden (five channels).
    Differences between DVB-T and DVB T2

    The following table reports a comparison of available modes in DVB-T and DVB-T2:

    For instance, a UK MFN DVB-T profile (64-QAM, 2k mode, coding rate 2/3, guard interval 1/32) and a DVB-T2 equivalent (256-QAM, 32k, coding rate 3/5, guard interval 1/128) allows for an increase in bit rate from 24.13 Mbit/s to 35.4 Mbit/s (+46.5%). Another example, for an Italian SFN DVB-T profile (64-QAM, 8k, coding rate 2/3, guard interval 1/4) and a DVB-T2 equivalent (256-QAM, 32k, coding rate 3/5, guard interval 1/16), achieves an increase in bit rate from 19.91 Mbit/s to 33.3 Mbit/s (+67%

    When the digital terrestrial HDTV service Freeview HD was launched in December 2009, it was the first DVB-T2 service intended for the general public. As of November 2010, DVB-T2 broadcasts were available in a couple of European countries.

    Countries where DVB-T2 is in use

    The earliest introductions of T2 have usually been tied with a launch of high-definition television. There are some countries where HDTV is broadcast using the old DVB-T standard with no immediate plans to switch those broadcasts to DVB-T2. Among countries using DVB-T for nationwide broadcasts of HDTV are France, Italy, Norway and Denmark.

    Countries where DVB-T2 is in use include:

    * United Kingdom: one multiplex, soft launch in December 2009, full launch in April 2010

    * Italy: one multiplex, soft launch in October 2010

    * Sweden: two multiplexes, full launch in November 2010

    * Finland: five multiplexes, soft launch in January 2011, full launch in February 2011

    * Ukraine: four multiplexes, soft launch in September 2011, full launch in November 2011

    The Southern African Development Community announced in November 2010 that DVB-T2 would be the preferred standard for the region.[19] In Serbia, both SD and HD broadcasts will air in DVB-T2It has been trialled in Spainand Germany. Austria and New Zealand have succeeded copies DVB T2 standard.

    Besides, Currently Malaysia, which has yet to officially launch it’s DVB-T transmission, is running tests on DVB-T2. Whether the system will be adopted only for HD channels or will replace it’s existing trial DVB-T system, if adopted at all, remains unannounced.


    Sales:Joanna Wang









    Category: Blog,Blog | Tags: